So, Open Mic Madness week is over.  I am pleased to report that the woman behind the avatar made it all the way to Round 4…that is the top 16 out of 128 acts. I still cannot believe I made it passed round 1 of this competition, so by the time they announced the top 16, I was floored. Unfortunately for me, Sommer Melody and her accompaniast guitar player were superior in performance and advanced to the final 8.

On the long ride home from Atlanta at 3am Saturday morning, I-85 was lit up like a runway…and I was coming in for the landing. …coming down off of such a high of performance was difficult, but at the same time…I really felt like I was validated as a songwriter this week.  Not that musicians should write songs in the hopes of being validated by others, we should be able to do that for ourselves, but being fairly new to all of this, I still feel like I have something to prove.

I met and/or heard some of the most talented musicians this week, Megan Coffee, Erica Ambrose, Lindsay Appel, Sanjay Kathari, The Last Aurora, Groovestain, The Brock Scott Quartet, Leaf Newman, Nathan Beaver, Elli Perry, Shawn Kegalis…just some fabulous people.  It was an experience that I will never forget and I’m so thankful to have been able to be a part of it for the length of time that I was.

😀

~cyl~

