After taking such a long break from doing music, it’s so nice be back. As a music teacher I am constantly challenged to learn various genre’s of music in order to instruct my students on how to play it. I have never been much of a fan of hip hop music. In fact, I find a lot of it completely vulgar. Please, do not take offense to this, it’s merely my personal opinion. One of the things that makes music so awesome is the fact that there are so many different styles of communicating, just as their are languages. Some people understand, others don’t. If you don’t like something, you have the ability to simply change the station or not listen to it. When you’re a teacher and trying to make a connection with students, often times you find yourself making concessions in order to relate. Some teachers may not, but I certainly do. If a student is not enjoying what their doing, they tend to lose their interest in the instrument. I would not be an effective teacher if I didn’t listen to my students and make an attempt to teach them what they want to learn. Meeting students where they are is a great way to start. After I have them hooked, then we move on to some different things. Like introducing picking patterns on the guitar so songs such as, “Landslide by Fleetwood Mac”, or “Hallelujah by Leonard Cohen”. The student may not be interested in learning it until I’ve shown them the simplicity of a picking pattern for “Skyscraper by Demi Lovato”, or “Dancing Till the World Ends by Britney Spears”. It is my desire to teach kids what they want to learn while also incorporating what I love to teach. Many of the songs my students are wanting to learn are making their way into my own performance set lists. This gives my sets some variety and hopefully will keep my audiences wondering…”what’s she going to play now?”. Variety….oh how I love it.